martes, 6 de junio de 2017

ARoS Triennial

Katharina Grosse, Untitled, 2017. ARoS Triennial. Photo by Maja Theodoraki. 
The Garden
ARoS Triennial: The Present and The Future
June 3–July 30, 2017

ARoS Triennial
Various locations
The opening of The Present and The Future marks the launch of the full ARoS Triennial programme completing a five-kilometre art zone and the most ambitious exhibition in the history of the ARoS Aarhus Art Museum.
The two final parts of the ARoS Triennial The Garden - End of Times, Beginning of Timesopened on Saturday, June 3. The Present and The Future introduce visitors to more than 30 works by Danish and international contemporary artists. Major names include Fujiko Nakaya, Doug Aitken, Alicja Kwade, Tomas Saraceno, Katharina Grosse, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Simon Starling, Tacita Dean, Yto Barrada, Elmgreen & Dragset and Superflex, with 24 works created especially for the Triennial.
Erlend G. Høyersten, Director, ARoS, said: "In April, the first part of the ARoS Triennial, The Past, opened at the museum and is already drawing large numbers of visitors. The opening of the second and third part now completes the Triennial. ARoS will be repeating this event every three years, a lasting ‘footprint’ from the Aarhus Capital of Culture year. At the same time, we’ll be introducing a wholly new cultural event which has been lacking in Denmark for some time."
Abough The Present and The Future
The Present and The Future are located on the roof of ARoS, in the heart of Aarhus, at the Natural History Museum, Aarhus, in the park, Mindeparken, at the local nightclub Shen Mao, in several warehouses on the city’s industrial harbour, and along a coastal stretch from Tangkrogen to Ballehage.
Marie Nipper, Curator of The Present and The Future, said: "With site-specific installations,The Present and The Future create a variety of takes on the garden and nature as contradictory places characterised by complex cultural differences. Common to all the artists taking part is their approach to the garden as materiality and mythology with symbolic and historical siginificance and changeability."
Artists featured in The Present and The Future 
Oscar Lhermitte, Ackroyd & Harvey, Cyprien Gaillard, Mark Dion, Fujiko Nakaya, E.B. ITSO, Pia Sirén, Rune Bosse, Ismar Cirkinagic, Sif Itona Westerberg, Elmgreen & Dragset, Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel, Doug Aitken, Bjarke Ingels Group (BIG), Hans Rosenstrøm, Katharina Grosse, Rirkrit Tiravanija & Nikolaus Hirsch and Michel Müller, Tue Greenfort, Anssi Pulkkinen & Taneli Rautiainen, Simon Starling, Max Hooper Schneider, Alicja Kwade, Henrik Menné, Pia Sirén, Rune Bosse, E.B. ITSO, Meg Webster, Sarah Sze, Tacita Dean, Yto Barrada and Superflex
About the Triennial
The ARoS Triennial The Garden – End of Times, Beginning of Times addresses man’s coexistence with and view of nature, outlining how various philosophical ideas (religious, political, ideological, cultural or scientific) have treated nature through art.
The Triennial is in three parts (The Past, The Present and The Future), which form the structural framework of the exhibition. The Past examines man’s relationship with nature as seen from an artistic and historical perspective, The Present looks at the status of nature here and now, and The Future explores the artistic reaction to environmental changes.
The Past (at ARoS): April 8 until September 10, 2017/October 22, 2017
The Present (in the city): June 3 until July 30, 2017
The Future (along the coast): June 3 until July 30, 2017
The Triennial’s curatorial team consists of Erlend G. Høyersten, Director, ARoS, and Founding Director of the Triennial, Lise Pennington, Chief Curator, Jakob Vengberg Sevel, Curator, Marie Nipper, External Curator, and Anne Mette Thomsen and Ellen Drude Skeel Langvold, Exhibition Coordinators.

A 2017 highligh
The ARoS Triennial The Garden – End of Times, Beginning of Times is one of the highlights of the Aarhus European Capital of Culture 2017 events programme, supported by Aarhus 2017 Rethink.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario


Archivo del blog